May 21, 2022

Marillion unleash video for ‘A Friend For The Earth’, coinciding with Earth Day 2022

Marillion unleash video for ‘A Friend For The Earth’,  coinciding with Earth Day 2022 and following the  release of their chart-topping album ‘An Hour Before  It’s Dark’.  

WATCH THE OFFICIAL VIDEO FOR ‘A FRIEND OF THE EARTH’ HERE:  https://youtu.be/LQW2VrCrCAI 

 

Hamburg, April 22nd, 2022

“Don’t wanna say goodbye  
But I’m watching the time
The flowers and the bees
Vanishing beneath our feet”  

If you dive into Marillion’s extensive catalogue, you will find several songs that take on  the topic of environment and humanity’s impact on it. The 1989 album and title track  ‘Seasons End’ is only one of many examples.

Now, over 30 years later, in times of ‘Fridays For Future’, an ongoing pandemic and a  general big uncertainty about the future of humanity, the topic does not lack relevance – quite the opposite!

Coinciding with Earth Day 2022, Marillion today release a new video accompanying what  is chapter two and three of ‘Reprogram The Gene’, a song released on their new album  ‘An Hour Before It’s Dark’ on March 4th, 2022.

While the song and video deliver a clear message on the one hand, Marillion also leave  room for everyone to have their own flavour of what the words of this song are about.

Steve Hogarth about ‘A Friend Of The Earth’:
“We are not of the heavens. We are of the earth. And whether you like it or not, when it  dies, it’s gonna take you with it. The planet is screaming in our faces like an approaching  express train. Some of us can hear it but don’t listen. Some of us can’t even hear it. But  getting out of its way is our only hope. 
We’re at a tipping point right now. 

Not to act, is suicide.”

Too self-righteous? How about: Turn the thermostat down and eat more veg.

With ‘An Hour Before It’s Dark’”, Marillion released one of their most upbeat albums of  their career while, at the same time, they once again did not shy away from  uncomfortable topics, reflecting on their own behaviour, and putting their finger in the  wounds of time.

The album topped the album charts worldwide, breaking the band’s chart records in  several countries. In Germany and the Netherlands ‘An Hour Before It’s Dark’ went  straight to #2 in the official album charts, making it the highest chart entry for the band in  both countries to date, while in the UK the band also celebrated #2 in the official charts,  their best chart position in over 30 years!

Marillion will embark on a major European and UK tour in autumn 2022, preceded by  several Marillion weekends until summer 2022.

An Hour Before It’s Dark 
Album Release: March 4th, 2022

Formats:  
CD+DVD Digipak / CD Digipak / Jewelbox CD / Blu ray Softbox / 2LP Gatefold / Ltd. Orange 2LP

Order “AN HOUR BEFORE IT’S DARK” here:  https://Marillion.lnk.to/AnHourBeforeItsDark

Tracklisting: 
1. Be Hard On Yourself
i. The Tear In The Big Picture
ii. Lust For Luxury
iii. You Can Learn
2. Reprogram The Gene
i. Invincible
ii. Trouble-Free Life
iii. A Cure For Us?
3. Only A Kiss (Instrumental)
4. Murder Machines
5. The Crow And The Nightingale
6. Sierra Leone
i. Chance In A Million
ii. The White Sand
iii. The Diamond
iv. The Blue Warm Air
v. More Than A Treasure
7. Care
i. Maintenance Drugs
ii. An Hour Before It’s Dark
iii. Every Call
iv. Angels On Earth

For further information please visit: https://marillion.com/tour/index.htm.

2022
Marillion – Cruise to The Edge
Monday 2 May 2022
Cruise To The Edge, Port Canaveral, Florida, USA
TICKETS: MORE INFO 
Marillion Weekend Sweden
Friday 20 May 2022
Cirkus, Stockholm, Sweden
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Marillion Weekend UK
Friday 27 May 2022
De Montfort Hall, Leicester, UK
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Marillion Weekend Portugal
Friday 10 June 2022
Aula Magna, Lisbon, Portugal
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Marillion Weekend Canada
Friday 1 July 2022
L’Olympia, Montreal, Canada
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Marillion – September 2022
Sunday 18 September 2022
King George’s Hall, Blackburn, UK
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Monday 19 September 2022
Royal Concert Hall, Glasgow, UK
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Wednesday 21 September 2022
Barbican, York, UK
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Thursday 22 September 2022
O2 Guildhall, Southampton, UK
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Saturday 24 September 2022
Friars Waterside, Aylesbury, UK
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Sunday 25 September 2022
Victoria Hall, Stoke, UK
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Tuesday 27 September 2022
City Hall, Sheffield, UK
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Wednesday 28 September 2022
The Dome, Brighton, UK
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Friday 30 September 2022
Eventim Apollo Hammersmith, London, UK
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Marillion – Live 2022 – Europe
Sunday 16 October 2022
L’Aeronef, Lille, France
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Monday 17 October 2022
Oosterpoort, Groningen, Netherlands
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Wednesday 19 October 2022
Muziekgebouw, Eindhoven, Netherlands
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Thursday 20 October 2022
Muziekgebouw, Eindhoven, Netherlands
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Saturday 22 October 2022
Zenith, Dijon, France
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Sunday 23 October 2022
Zenith, Paris, France
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Tuesday 25 October 2022
Tivoli Vredenburg, Utrecht, Netherlands
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Wednesday 26 October 2022
Tivoli Vredenburg, Utrecht, The Netherlands
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Friday 28 October 2022
Le Summum, Grenoble, France
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Saturday 29 October 2022
Le Rocher De Palmer, Bordeaux, France
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Monday 31 October 2022
Zenith, Nantes, France
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Thursday 3 November 2022
Liederhalle, Stuttgart, Germany
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Friday 4 November 2022
Tempdrom, Berlin, Germany
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Sunday 6 November 2022
Pier 2, Bremen, Germany
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Monday 7 November 2022
Jahrhunderthalle, Frankfurt, Germany
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
Wednesday 9 November 2022
Turbinenhalle, Oberhausen, Germany
TICKETS: ON SALE NOW
2023
Marillion Weekend Port Zelande
Thursday 16 March 2023
Center Parcs, Port Zelande, The Netherlands
TICKETS: MORE INFO SOON
Twitter
Visit Us
Follow Me
YOUTUBE
YOUTUBE
INSTAGRAM

Hits: 2